Skip to content
γ€πŸ€γ€‘ Bitandroid.top β–· Android portal with Apps, tutorials and news

Instagram changes the Direct and Profile buttons in its app

Instagram changes the Direct and Profile buttons in its Android application

The behavior of the users of a service ends up defining how it is used and how it evolves. The most important example for the current reality of social networks are hashtags, which began on Twitter thanks to users accustomed to IRC and ended up being officially implemented on the bird’s network. Over time, all other networks adopted the system in one form or another, and so on until today.

Other changes, however, may be minor, but defined by the same template. Instagram changes the Direct and Profile buttons based on the behavior of its users, who use the direct message service more than access to their account and settings. At the moment it is a change that is in tests, but that a large number of people have detected. You can check how it looks in the following image:

On the left, the appearance so far. On the right, the new one. As you can see, the logo of Direct but the Profile changes to a more generic one. In addition, another change is that the bottom bar is no longer replaced by the camera button on the message screen, but the bottom navigation menu is maintained. It makes sense, since on the one hand the hierarchy of the page changes; while on the other hand that functionality is repeated.

In the air is also the position of the button IGTV. To date, both Direct and IGTV were on the top menu. This made sense considering that both services could be their own independent app. However, Instagram is testing changes with its YouTube rival, so we will likely see changes on this side as well. Finally, when writing comments, a new emoji bar appears to write them quickly.

emojis in instagram comments

New control tool: how long do you use Instagram?

All of these changes are being made from the server side, so you may not see them in your app yet. Just wait until your turn comes and voila. Your changes may even be triggered and then rolled back if you update from the Play Store. This is what can happen with these changes, as with the new tool Instagram and Facebook that tells you how many hours you spend in the application. You can know more about the latter in the following article from the colleagues of ADSLZone: